Mac OS X attacks once again!

Hey!, How are you?…I hope you be ok!

Well, how some of you would know I’m using as much as possible an iBook given to me by my uncle. So I rather (when I use this iBook to write) do posts in English, because of the keyboard (this one is an american one)…and it’s a lot of non-comfortable to write spanish with it.

Much of mac-ers says that OS X is the way of doing everything…We shall say:

  • Graphical arts
  • Get fun through games
  • Software development
  • The mac-ers says that is even possible the Hitler’s resurrection

I want to tell you mac boys that these points you are always arguing and saying things like “there’s no other as mac to do these things”…that’s not true!

Since I have this mac everything has been a trouble (the ram, the processor, the os, etc.) but a text editor called TextMate (well must to be something good). And now I decided to start using this iBook to develop Java applications. I was almost ready, all I needed was the jdk. It was partially grateful when I read the Apple documentation and I found a paragraph with a note that Java is included by installing Mac OS X; I opened a terminal and type: “java”, and worked!…But this happiness was taken off when I wrote in terminal: “java -version”, the result of that is:

java version “1.5.0_20”
Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build 1.5.0_20-b02-315)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 1.5.0_20-141, mixed mode, sharing)

java version “1.5.0_20″Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build 1.5.0_20-b02-315)Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 1.5.0_20-141, mixed mode, sharing)

All of my applications needs the version 1.6, and this is how a work of many years got sticked, I couldn’t even deploy a single application. Then seeking by around 4 weeks I found that Apple makes its own jdk for OS X. That’s to sad because Java is intented to be an standard, and Apple says that it’s by the standards side. How can apple say it?, when Apple knows an standard Apple modify it by its side.

And that isn’t the worst trouble, the worst trouble is that Apple makes available the jdk 6 only for that users who owns the C2D and after macs. With this apple shows that: “The customer isn’t important”, many people who spent $2000USD for a mac, now they haven’t support for their PC.

I think this is the last Mac I will have…not because of the hardware (that isn’t the best). I write this is my last mac because Apple puts a lot of restrictions of what you want to do (come on!, jdk provided by Apple??). I’m waiting my new Dell Studio XPS, maybe hasn’t the best hardware but is better than mac hardware (XPS => Intel Core i5, 4 GB of RAM @ 1333MHz, 500 HD, ATi Radeon HD 4670).

Responder

